2005 Ballantrae Club Championship
1/4/2006  Ray Merrit wins club championship

Ballantrae Golf Clubís first club championship was held August 27th and 28th.  With a field of forty players, the championship was broken down into five flights.  Playing in the championship flight from the II tees, Ray Merrit and Lee Harper both posted a two day score of 155.  With the two players tied, a sudden death playoff was held starting on the first hole.  Both players found the fairway with their tee shots.  With Ray Merritt finding the center of the green, Lee Harper fired at the flag coming up just short in the front bunker.  Finding a buried lye in the bunker, Harper was able to blast out to the center of the green.  Merritt would putt first leaving himself a tap in for par,  Harper came up short with his par attempt making Ray Merritt the Ballantrae Club Champion of 2005.   The Ladies championship was won by Melissa Bibb with a two day winning score of 192. A winning total of 151 was established by Johnny Kimbrell who won first gross in the Seniorís flight.  In addition, Bill Marchman won first net in the Seniorís flight with a two day net score of 140.   The winner of the third flight was Charlie Carmon who posted a two day score of 167.   Michael Costanza began the tournament with a first round 82 then followed by a second round 73 to win the second flight with a total of 155.  The first flight was determined by a scorecard playoff between John Alford and Jim Hess.  With a birdie on 18, Jim Hess won the first flight with a two day total of 154.  The Ballantrae Staff would like to thank the members for their participation in this event and look forward to seeing everyone in upcoming events.