Rick Hayes, Ron Scott, Beth McMillan, Maurice Mercer, Karyl Rice

The City of Pelham operates under a Mayor-Council form of government. This form of government most closely resembles the private sector with the Mayor serving as the Chief Executive Officer and the Council as the Board of Directors. The Council elects a president and president pro tempore to preside over the council meetings. The Mayor is in charge of day-to-day operations of the city and is not a voting member of the council. The Pelham City Council meets the 1st and 3rd Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers located in Pelham City Hall. The Mayor and City Council Members are elected at large for four-year terms. The last municipal election was held on August 28, 2012, with a run-off election following on October 9, 2012. All residents vote at the Pelham Civic Complex for municipal elections.  The next municipal election will be held on Tuesday, August 23, 2016, at the Pelham Civic Complex & Ice Arena from 7:00 am until 7:00 pm. The Mayor and City Council work as a team with the City of Pelham employees to provide the public with:

  • A safe community in which to live and work.
  • Services delivered courteously and professionally.
  • Fiscal responsibility with accountability.
  • Convenient opportunities for recreation.

The elected officials and employees recognize that if they accomplish these goals the City of Pelham will always be a desirable place in which to live and work.